Posted in crafts, diy

3 Simple DIY Keychain Ideas

There’s no good time for a heavily used item to fall apart, but of course, a busy morning is usually when a well-worn keychain will decide to disintegrate. Rather than buying to replace it, try one of these three DIY ideas!

As I scooped up my handful of keys and shoved them in my pocket, I tried to think of where I could buy a new keychain. But I couldn’t find a keychain that I loved that was also the right price point. Time to give DIY a shot.

My requirements: it had to be lightweight, highly functional, and pretty. And it needed to be fast and easy – I had to be able to make it in less than fifteen minutes. I purchased a few split key rings from my local hardware store and then dug around my supply closet to see what I had kicking around that would work as a keychain. Here’s what I came up with:

1. Patterned Wood Tab

I love how easy it is to make a pattern with a wood burning tool. In about two minutes, I had this quasi-cross hatch pattern. Done. Wondering how you can create your own designs on wood? Check out this wood burning tutorial from a few months back.

2. Monkey’s Fist Knot

Here’s ANOTHER way these guys come in handy. A Monkey’s Fist makes a gorgeous keychain fob, just be sure to tuck the loose end back under your loops before tightening all the way, so that you have a loop to attach to your split key ring. Need to know how to tie a Monkey’s Fist? Watch this video! (PS – I used a marble as the ball in the middle.)

3. Embroidery Thread Tassel

This one is just festive and pretty. Of COURSE I would put a lavender tassel on my keychain. I had a few leftover from fancying up my strand lights, so I snagged one to use as a keychain accessory. I think it would be pretty easy to identify which keys belonged to me with these tassels attached.

 

In a pinch, I had three great options to key my keys together and easily identifiable. Now if only it was as easy to make getting out of the house in the morning even a little bit more simple and organized.

http://www.diynetwork.com/made-and-remade/make-it/3-simple-diy-keychain-ideas

Leave a comment